9/11 Ten Year Anniversary

My Story is insignificant, but I remember the moment I learned that a plane had crashed into the World Trade Center.

I can’t believe it has been almost 10 years.

I was in Ireland for my sister’s wedding. I had just dropped my son off at preschool (my sister-in-law owns her own in my hometown) and while he was at preschool I wanted to get a gag gift for my brother in law to be from my son who was going to be their ring bearer.

In a hardware store I spotted two figures, one each of Laurel and Hardy, my brother in law is a huge fan. I went in and was standing at the counter ready to pay for Laurel and Hardy when the clerk, an older lady said, “Wasn’t that an awful crash in America?” The lady behind me in line said, “Shocking altogether!”

I hadn’t got a clue what was happening and thought the bottom had fallen out of the stock market because things were not good on Wall Street when I left the USA. A stock market crash was being threatened for weeks.

My brother met me on the street outside the store and told me to get into his car. He told me that something had happened in America, a plane had crashed into the World Trade Center.

My first thought was, well it must have been pilot error. Those towers are pretty big and I had been in them many times.

He drove me to the preschool (his wife’s) and we went in. She was reading the children a story. They sat on the floor listening to her. My brother told her what we had heard. We turned on the radio. The children still sat quietly.

I looked at my son’s face as he was sitting waiting for the rest of the story with the other preschoolers, so innocent and happy. I wanted to take him with me and just disappear. Keep him safe from all the ugliness.

My husband was in Kerry playing golf and was staying there overnight. His aunt and uncle (B&B)were with him along with his parents and another aunt(R).

The aunt and uncle spent all day trying to reach their son, he was working on Wall Street at the time. If you remember seeing men in suits walking all covered in dust; he was one of them. He didn’t get home until after midnight.

The aunt(R) had a daughter who worked in the World Trade Center, Tower 2, her company had the day off on 9/11 ten years ago.

My next door neighbor lost her brother who worked for Cantor Fitzgerald, the company who lost the most people that horrible day. He called her to say goodbye.

On the night of 9/11 myself and my 2 1/2 year old son stayed in a hotel alone. Just as well; I wasn’t in much of a mood for talking. I just watched the footage being replayed again and again on the news and was terrified to fly back home.

Here’s George W. Bush’s memory of that day.

http://tv.yahoo.com/george-w-bush-the-9-11-interview/show/47630/videos/26169789

I’d like to read your story  too.

6 thoughts on “9/11 Ten Year Anniversary

  1. I’d been at the park with Orion. The TV was blairing so loudly that I could hear it in the garage. I just remember going into shock for a while, then sitting outside thinking that if I were going to die, I wanted to be outdoors. Later that afternoon, I took Orion back to the park (DH was home that day and watching wall to wall coverage). I sang the chorus to “Conviction of the Heart” as we walked. (“one with the earth, one with the sky, one with everything in life; I believe we’ll survive if we only try.”)

    • Wow Fran, did you really think you were going to die that day? I just remember being scared that I was flying home to America and we were indeed the first flight out of Shannon airport three days after 9/11
      Thanks for Sharing your story Fran.

      • I can only give an account of my familie’s first knowledge if the crashing in to the World Trade Center.

        The moment I saw the first buiding on fire, I called my wife, “You gotta see this!”

        She came running down wrapping her robe around her. We sat together, stunned into silence, and watched the second plane crash into the other tower,

        When the first tower collapsed, I thought there were other factors involved in saobotaging the building. My largest concern was for people inside the building.

        My 5 year ld stepdaughter got part way down and said,”
        You woke me up for THIS?” It did look like a movie scene.
        When the second tower went down we all tried to get through the day. I need to be in front of TV for days.

Leave a Reply

