School Shootings Around the Globe Since 1996

When Columbine happened my son wasn’t even 3 months old and I was on maternity leave. I went back to my students and just told them to take care of each other. School is supposed to be a safe place for our kids, isn’t it?
Since 1996 the numbers for school shootings around the world are, 53 US Shootings 4 Germany Shootings 2 Canada 2 Finland 1 Yemen 1 Scotland 1 Brazil 1 Azerbaijan 1 Argentina
This lists the number of incidences not victims. US gun laws do have a big part to play in the high incidence here, but when the father of one of the Columbine victims says 12 years later that it is a lack of God in our classrooms and not lax gun laws, we’ve got problems! BIG problems.
I grew up with a couple of rifles in our house in Ireland, my dad hunted rabbits now and again. I had access to guns, but they were under lock and key at all times. It never dawned on me that that is what a gun could be used for other than killing a couple of rabbits (sorry animal lovers)
Maybe there is a cross over with these computer games desesitizing the kids? I don’t know. But in this latest case in France, it sounds like this bike riding murderer is a complete racist. I hope they get the bastard.
http://storify.com/lorettoleary/school-shootings-in-us-and-around-the-globe

Leave a Reply

