Getting to the soul of your sole: Part Deux!

From left to right: Newset sneaker has better treads, in the middle the sneaker I have just retired after five months of wear, on the right, the sneaker before that!

From left to right: Newest sneaker has better treads, in the middle the sneaker I have just retired after five months of wear, on the right, the sneaker before that!

I broke down and bought new Vomero 6 sneakers by Nike. It turns out that they are changing the sneaker and will be making new ones.

The picture above is a year of sneakers, approximately $330. Each pair has covered 6 miles a day, 6 days a week for five months. You can figure out the mileage yourself.

Nike Vomero 6 sneakers. The one closest to camera has worn down treads because they have been worn for 5 months, as has the sneaker in the center. The sneaker furthest away is brand new.

Nike Vomero 6 sneakers. The one closest to camera has worn down treads because they have been worn for 5 months, as has the sneaker in the center. The sneaker furthest away is brand new.

I know that I need new sneakers because I start to trip on the treadmill. The tread on the sneaker is so worn down it literally sticks to the belt and I trip as I speed walk.

Date sneakers are first worn written on heels.

Date sneakers are first worn written on heels.

I have also started to keep track of when I buy my sneakers and wear them for the first run/walk. I write the date on the heel as shown in the picture to the left. This helps me to budget in for new sneakers a few weeks prior to the “tripping” on the treadmill starts.

I have been averaging 5 months from my sneakers. I speed walk on a treadmill in-doors and cover about 38 miles per week. If you cover more miles, then your sneakers will break down faster.

If you over wear the sneaker you could end up damaging the arch of your foot or start to feel pain. It is important to change your sneakers regularly if you workout daily, either running on a treadmill or outside.

Leave a Reply

