Gluten and Lactose Free Day 24, 25, 26 and 27

The dull headache has persisted badly this week. Last year at this time I sat sneezing, eyes watering and feeling just plain miserable in a restaurant. It was a terrible feeling. Not really “sick” but every symptom feeling like I had a really bad cold that just wouldn’t go away.

Would I lie to you? Peanut M&Ms, gluten free, just about, lactose free, hardly. You gotta live a little too!

This year it is a different story. I think I have sneezed about three times this week. Even though this is supposed to be a very bad tree pollen allergy season, which is the big culprit for me.

The only explanation I can think of is that blood vessels, airways and any other ‘tube’ that transports air, blood, or what ever else, around the body is less ‘gunked up” with gluten. I can’t think of any other reason.

I also contribute the lack of allergy symptoms to less lactose in my eating habits. Milk contributes to mucus production and this is the first year in my 19 years of living in the US that my sinuses and ear canals have not given me any problems in the spring. This is a side effect I had not anticipated from doing this lactose and gluten-free diet.

The skin is slowly improving. However I do notice that the closer I get to my normal monthly cycle, the chin and jaw line breakouts are inevitable. I have read a little more about this and most articles relate these breakouts to normal hormonal imbalances for women, typical of perimenopause. Isn’t life just dandy ladies?

My niece who is an aesthetician in Ireland tells me that if a girl has acne prone skin in her teens, in perimenopause the same culprits, hormones, come back to visit. The bad news is you get pimples in your teens and in your forties. The good news is that because of the excess of oil already in your skin you won’t wrinkle as fast, or as much. Who’s the lucky girl?

Now I don’t know about you, but having gone through my teens with pimples was enough. Having to do this a second time around in my forties is just a pain. The gluten and lactose free diet when adhered to strictly helps improve the condition of my skin. As I have said in previous posts though, that’s hard to to do when you eat out, have a sweet tooth, and you are not a saint. Yes, shocking news, I know, but I would not mislead you! I am not a saint. There! I’ve said it!

Here’s what days 24, 25, 26 and 27 look like:

Leave a Reply

