The Foundling

The Foundling is now available on Amazon.com

The Foundling

6 thoughts on “The Foundling

  1. I want to turn aside from the tragedy for a moment to tell you how much I enjoyed your novel. I read it in two days being unable to put it down. I developed a deep affection for the little family that grew up around Robert at Shannon Oaks. It broke my heart when Dermot was shot and the family split up by the growing rebellion. I had started reading the Great Hunger so I was familiar with a little of the history surrounding O’Connell and am developing a deeper understanding of the fierce resistance to English rule in Ireland over the past two centuries.
    You have a real gift Loretto. The pace of revelations in the story was excellent. I was irresistibly drawn in. Also, early in the story I thought that maybe Robert would become involved in the resistance movement but as the story developed my hope that he and Mairead would make a new start in America was fulfilled.
    I really can’t wait for Stained Glass to come out. I was intrigued by Mairead’s development near the end. She was young and her growing taste for finery along with her fantasizing about being the lady of a grand estate made me wonder if she would be disappointed by the relatively humble reality in Connecticut. I was also intrigued by her budding jealousy over Robert’s affection for his real mother. The first inkling of real flaws in her character seem to be emerging from the innocence and honesty she displayed through most of the story. I do hope Robert becomes involved with the abolition movement in the U.S. as hinted in his discussion with Warren.
    I enjoy the psychological depth of your writing first introduced to me in Outward Walls.
    I am so glad to have become acquainted with you and your writing. I enjoy history and historical novels very much. If you and your husband ever plan to visit Southern California you must let me know. I would love to treat the two of you to dinner by the ocean.
    Please wish your family a Merry Christmas from a new fan.
    Sincerely
    Robert

Leave a Reply

