If Macbeth were Irish

Macbeth                                                                   O’Shaugnessy

Is this a dagger which I see before me,           Is da a knife I say in front ‘a me
The handle toward my hand? Come, let          Da handle pointin’ toward me hand?
me clutch thee.                                                Come here ’til I grab hould ‘a ya!
I have thee not, and yet I see thee still.           Yearra! I shtill can’t grab hould ‘a ya,
Art thou not,                                                     an’ be da hokey I shtill say ya!
fatal vision                                                       Bejazus, yer a right bashtard of a sight

Shakespeare

Willaim “Shakespeare” O’Shaughnessy

Inspired by “The Hokey Pokey, Shakespearean Style” by Jeff Brechlina winning entry in The Style Invitational, The Washington Post’s weekly humor/wordplay contest.
The Hokey Pokey Shakespearean Style

6 thoughts on “If Macbeth were Irish

Leave a Reply

