Reviews of The Foundling

The Foundling by Loretto Leary

The Foundling by Loretto Leary

Three Reviews of my book The Foundling

1. A very interesting, insightful introduction to Irish politics of the 1800’s (which I knew nothing about) all wrapped around a beautiful love story. The characters and their love story come to life! I totally lost myself in their world, and in the book…….Can’t wait to read the next in the series.

2. I wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed your novel. I read it in two days being unable to put it down. I developed a deep affection for the little family that grew up around Robert at Shannon Oaks. It broke my heart when Dermot was shot and the family split up by the growing rebellion.The pace of revelations in the story was excellent. I was irresistibly drawn in. Also, early in the story I thought that maybe Robert would become involved in the resistance movement but as the story developed my hope that he and Mairead would make a new start in America was fulfilled. I really can’t wait for Stained Glass to come out.

3. This story brings a whole new meaning to the phrase, “You can’t go home again.”Who is Robert Mountbellew? And why does his mother resent him so much? And what of his forbidden love for a servant girl whose name he can barely pronounce? Loretto Leary has crafted a tale of mystery, romance, and class struggle against the backdrop of the 19th century Republican movement. I was instantly drawn to the characters and Loretto’s wonderfully descriptive writing. I “saw” the whole story in my head as if it were a movie. This book is the first in a series. I can’t wait to read the next one!

3 thoughts on “Reviews of The Foundling

Leave a Reply

