Email Sign offs and their hidden meanings

What your email sign-off really means (Picture via The Guardian)

What your email sign-off really means (Picture via The Guardian)

I am just crying laughing here. There is a very entertaining article in The Guardian today about what your email sign-off really means.

According to the article’s author, “you can sign-off with “regards”, which means, quite literally, “I have no regard for you at all”. Or you can use the more extreme “warmest regards”, which means, “never contact me again you insufferable bastard”. Then there’s “yours”, which means, “I don’t even know who you are or what you wrote to me about”, and its cousin, “yours sincerely”, which means, “you owe me money and I will make your life a living hell until I get it”. Some people sign off emails with “best”. Not “best wishes”, which is used when the emailer is for some reason under the impression they’re writing in a Christmas card, but just “best”, which is a slightly creepy sign-off, like writing “be seeing you REALLY soon…”. Best? Best what? Sometimes I use “take care”, which I used to think sounded kind, but now I feel carries a similar thinly-veiled threat of violence. Writing “love” is fine when writing to someone you actually love: otherwise you’re either going to sound disturbed or sarcastic. Writing “fondly” is almost the same as writing “I hate you”.”

Just as funny, and possibly even more so, are the comments following the article. Scroll down the comments and read/interpret the sign off RobinMatyjasek suggests to Leaflet on July 17 @8:00am. It took me a while to get the meaning….

All the best,

Loretto

Leave a Reply

