The play’s the thing

stage_curtains

The play’s the thing (Image source: Northstage.com)

There something about a play that transports you out of your seat and into the lives of the people on stage. It is like being a fly on the wall of someone else’s living room.

I remember many years ago, attending Yale Repertory Theater with a friend to see Eugene O’Neill’s fine play, Long Days Journey Into Night.

Then there was the time that I saw Brian Friel’s fantastic play Philadelphia Here I Come, when I lived in London. It is amazing how in the space of one hour and 30 minutes, you start to really care about what happens to the characters on the stage.

The last play I saw was A Steady Rain which gave me a new found appreciation for the actors Daniel Craig and Hugh Jackman. There is no finer way for an actor to showcase their talent than on a stage performing before a live audience.

I have acted a bit too, but no stage acting since my high-school days. I think I’d rather direct, and write. I prefer the sidelines these days.

It has been a long time goal of mine to write a play. And from now until December, I will devote my writing talents, if that’s what I possess, to finishing the second book in the series of The Foundling, Stained Glass, and also attempt to write a play. Or in the words of the world’s finest playwright, William Shakespeare,” Aye, the play’s the thing.” Hamlet Act 2, scene 2, Line 605. So if you’re in the area, and want to get involved in this mad-cap scheme to form an amateur acting group, leave a comment, or send me a direct message via twitter @lorettoleary.

 

Leave a comment