The Shorelines Arts Festival Portumna

For the last couple of years I have been stalking Facebook, in particular The Shorelines Art Festival page. I have looked on longingly as locals from my hometown celebrated the gifts of music, drama, poetry, literature, art, dance, sculpture, film, photography, and other artistic talents in Clanrickarde’s Castle, The Irish Workhouse Center, my old school and local pubs.

I believe that this world is a far better place because of the arts, and what better way to showcase local talent than at an arts festival. Ireland is filled with artistic talent, and this festival is a great outlet for those talents.

Members of the shorelines Art Festival accepting the Galway Mayor's Award for Arts and Culture in November 2012 (Image Source Shorelines Arts Festival Facebook Page)

Members of the shorelines Art Festival accepting the Galway Mayor’s Award for Arts and Culture in November 2012 (Image Source Shorelines Arts Festival Facebook Page)

The Shorelines Art Festival began in 2008. The original idea for a one day festival celebrating local talent, was stretched to a weekend. Since 2008 the festival has grown in leaps and bounds, winning the Galway Mayor’s Award for Arts and Culture from Galway County Council in November 2012.

This year I will be flying over to Ireland and attending the festival. Being a self-published author means that you have to advertise yourself, so I did. I contacted one of the main people involved with the festival and she very kindly arranged for me to do a 15 minute reading from The Foundling, on September the 21st at a Literary Brunch.

The Foundling by Loretto Leary

The Foundling by Loretto Leary

I am flying over with 25 copies of The Foundling and 25 copies of Mona, the body in the bog. If you would like a copy of the books and you will be attending the festival, I am selling them for 10 Euro each, and 100% of the profits will go to The Shorelines Art Festival.

The Foundling is a fictional story set in Portumna in 1843, and includes an historical account of Clanrickarde’s castle.

Mona, the body in the bog by Loretto Leary

Mona, the body in the bog by Loretto Leary

Mona, the body in the bog is a Celtic murder mystery which begins in North Tipperary.

This year’s festival starts on September 19th and closes on the 22nd. It features a poetry reading by Paul Durcan and a concert by Luca Bloom. There is also a recital competition, Lines Learned By Heart, which I will definitely attend.

I hope to see you at one of the events! I know I plan to attend as many as I possibly can. I will hopefully make this an annual event. I just can’t wait to attend The Shorelines Art Festival 2013.

2 thoughts on “The Shorelines Arts Festival Portumna

  1. Hi Lon, a bit late reading this…Great news to hear you will be doing a reading! Would love to be able to fly over and listen, but alas the tyranny of distance!
    Good Luck and hope you sell all your books xx

Leave a Reply

