Yer man, the actor, what’s his name? With the fadja!

Yer man. What's his name? The actor. With the fadja!

Yer man. What’s his name? The actor. With the fadja! (Image source Wikipedia)

Many’s the time that I’ve sat through a movie and wracked my brain to try and remember where I saw a specific actor before. You know the feeling. I know you’ve experienced it also. “Where have I seen him before?” “What else was he in?”

That loss of memory, that drives you mad, and gnaws fiercely at your brain, until you finally Google the bloody hell out of the actor’s name and then relax because you’ve managed to connect the dots.

Start nodding, you’ve done it too. I know it. Yes you have. The discovery is usually followed by a massive exhalation of, “Oh yeah, that’s him!”

I’m not much of a television watcher, so some series that have rated high slipped right by me. I like movies, ones that leave me with more questions than answers. I don’t like my movie wrapped up in a neat bow. Yes, that means the formulaic Hollywood movies that are blockbusters rarely get my attention. So this actor has done some television stuff and movies that I really like. As yet, I have not seen him live in a play.

Ciarán Hinds is one of those actors, the ones that you know from another film or television show. By the way, that little stroke over the last “á” in Ciarán is called a fada in Irish. Or as the people of north Tipperary call it a fadja, I prefer fadja. He didn’t use it in earlier credits, or maybe they hadn’t invented the fadja yet in movie credits, but now he does. The fadja means you lengthen the sound of the letter below it. So he isn’t Keiran, he’s pronounced phonetically as, Keerawn Hinds. Like my son isn’t Seen, Shawn, or Shaun, he is Seán.

So if you are watching; Game of Thrones, Political Animals,  Ghost Rider, Laura Croft Tomb Raider, The Man Who Cried, The Eclipse, Above Suspicion, There Will Be Blood, Prime Suspect, December Bride, In Bruges, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, The Shore, The Debt, The Rite, Salvation Boulevard, Harry Potter and The Deathly Hollows Part 1 and 2, Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day, and  click here for more movies, and click here for television work, ….well you probably recognize yer man, the actor, what’s his name? With the fadja! Ciarán Hinds. A great actor, and of course the reason I struggle to remember who he is is because he totally disappears into the character. He is no longer Ciarán Hinds, he is the man he portrays on screen or stage…..now that’s a great actor.

2 thoughts on “Yer man, the actor, what’s his name? With the fadja!

Leave a Reply

