Is there an Irish Historian in the house?

A great man, at least I think so. William Smith O'Brien (Image Source: en.wikipedia.org )

A great man, at least I think so. William Smith O’Brien (Image Source: en.wikipedia.org )

I need the help of an Irish historian.

I am writing an historical fiction book about the society and political climate in Ireland from 1845-1890. The Great Hunger in Ireland, the Rebellion of 1848, convict Ships, coffin Ships will all come into play. I am trying to recreate an accurate historical account as best I can.

I have tried to find out what types of weapons Home Rule rebels used in the 1848 rebellion and how Irish Americans contributed/ got involved with Irish Home Rule.

What weapons were used in the Irish Rebellion of 1848 and where did the rebels get the weapons from? Were any weapons brought into the country from abroad?

Thanks so much to anyone who might be able to give me some answers.

One thought on “Is there an Irish Historian in the house?

Leave a Reply

