Respecting History

Me at the Colosseum in 1992

Me at the Colosseum in 1992

In the early 1990’s I visited my twin sister in Rome. It was a short five day visit, but I managed to squeeze in as many historical sights as I could.

The Colosseum, The Mouth of Truth, The Trevi Fountain, The Spanish Steps, The Vatican, and that’s about all I could manage in 1992.

When I visited The Mouth of Truth, I remembered the lovely Audrey Hepburn and Gregory Peck movie, Roman Holiday. It is one of my all time favorites, for two reasons; Peck and Hepburn.

The mouth of truth scene from Roman Holiday with Gregory Peck and Audrey Hepburn.

The mouth of truth scene from Roman Holiday with Gregory Peck and Audrey Hepburn. (Image source: Wikipedia)

I loved the scene where Gregory Peck pretends that the historical landmark, Bocca della Verità, The Mouth of Truth, bites off his hand.

Peck tells Hepburn that the mouth of truth bites off the hand of those who lie when answering a question posed by another person. He squirms in pain, withdraws his hand, now shortened as he hides it beneath the sleeve of his jacket. Liar, liar, pants on fire?

I asked an American student to take my picture whilst I placed my hand into the mouth of truth. He obliged. I placed my hand into the stone mouth and withdrew it instantly. Inside the historical monument was heaps of trash and discarded rubbish. Sad, isn’t it?

Why can’t tourists, and maybe even locals, who knows, respect history and historical monuments?

Ireland August 2009 284Here is a picture I managed to take in 2009 of caskets interned at the Cistercian Abbey in Portumna. It is only recently that I noticed a discarded packet of Polish cigarettes in the foreground.

The reason I am upset about this is because not only is it disrespectful to ancient monuments, but when you see how small the hole is that I had to shove my hand and small camera through to get this picture, and the fact that this abbey is in a remote location, you realize that the person who pushed the empty cigarette package through the hole in the wall really had to go out of their way to do it.

This is not a rubbish bin!

This is not a rubbish bin!

Let’s have some respect for history and historical monuments. They aren’t garbage/rubbish bins, you know?

The fines for desecrating historical monuments should be HUGE!

8 thoughts on “Respecting History

Leave a Reply

