Smoothie Operator

photo SmoothieI am really loving this Nutri-Bullet, which is available in Ireland from Littlewoods. I have learned a bit more about micro-nutrients and have started to add things like spirulina, a blue-green algae, to my smoothies to give them a protein and iron boost.

Spirulina tastes, as one nutritionist aptly described it, of pond scum. Delicious, right? But much like the way I try to camouflage the woodsy taste of the avocado seed, I add one teaspoon of spirulina into my lunchtime smoothie along with two fruits and two vegetables. The chia seeds or flax seeds help to disguise the taste also.

Spirulina in powdered form. It is also available in tablet form. (image source:  SpirulinaPowderreview.com)

Spirulina in powdered form. It is also available in tablet form. (image source: SpirulinaPowderreview.com)

The health benefits of spirulina are numerous. It has been known to increase energy levels, prevent damage to the body caused by toxins, and research shows that participants in a recent study burned more fat whilst running on a treadmill than those who did not use spirulina. It is also a great source of pure protein, and essential amino acids.

I have also started juicing. The juicer I use is a Breville model. It is a lot more complicated than the Nutri-Bullet, but according to most nutritionists the ability to drink micro-nutrients means they are absorbed at maximum capacity by the body. The Nutri-Bullet makes smoothies, and the Breville Juicer makes….well it makes juice actually. But it is a high-powered juice, filled with micro-nutrients. Have I mentioned micro-nutrients?

BrevilleMICRO-NUTRIENTS What are they? They are the nutrition we get from eating green leafy vegetables, fruits, beans and seeds. Now the amazing thing about this Breville Juicer is that it extracts all the nutrients from the fruits and vegetables and removes the pulp, that is the skin, which is mostly fibrous.

My breakfast this morning would have taken me an hour to eat. But because of the juicer, I drank my breakfast in about 5 minutes. My husband said the juice, a concoction of celery, apples, kale, lemon and ginger, smelled like Irish grass. Hmm….I guess that means he likes the fresh and healthy taste. In fact it freshens your breath and you feel “clean” after drinking it.

Fruit BowlSo there’s my breakfast, there on the left. It tasted great. I even added a little Aloe Vera juice to aid digestion. But the trick here is to add the pulp back into the juicer a second time and you will get a significant amount of juice. I then put the remaining pulp into the Nutri-Bullet and gave it a whirl to break it down.

At lunch time I added two tablespoons to my smoothie concoction of half a banana, broccoli, pineapple and honeydew melon, along with my spoonful of avocado seed powder, chia seeds and spirulina.

 

PulpTonight I’ll make a soup from the remaining pulp, which I store in a Tupperware container, tightly sealed, in my refrigerator. I don’t know how it will taste, but you can be sure I’ll keep you posted on any changes and other recipes for the Nutri-Bullet and Breville Juicer.

The model of juicer I use is not available at Littlewoods in Ireland, but this one looks just like it.

Keep juicing you smooth operators!

 

Avocado Seed Whole

photo smoothie 2Ground Avocado Seed

 

 

6 thoughts on “Smoothie Operator

    • Good question Elaine. It can grind/mill nuts into powder, so for people with diverticulitis it is a great way of getting the protein and other nutrients from nuts back into the diet. Also, really does make the smoothies “smooth”….no lumps or chunks. And it is compact. I brought mine on vacation with me and did a smoothie of fruit and kale for lunch every day. Also, I don’t know if the offer is still on, but it was a great deal at 140$ approx. and buy one get one free! Let me know if you get it and what you think of it. Just by making the fruit smoother means your body absorbs more of the nutrients.

      • Thanks so much Loretto. That is good to know and we will definitely look into it. I can’t eat spinach, it’s a texture thing left over from childhood. Maybe this will help.

      • will do. Growing up we got the canned spinach and my mom would cook it to long and then I couldn’t leave the table until I eat it all. Michael s mom cooked fresh spinach one day it smelled delicious, she sauteed it with onions and garlic . I took one bite and gagged. Luckily we had warned her. I told her I would try but that was it.

Leave a Reply

