Tesco Burgers Low in Fat But High in Shergar

Shergar "I am not a crook, I mean I am not a cook, I mean I am not to be cooked!"

Shergar “I am not a crook, I mean I am not a cook, I mean I am not to be cooked!”

Twitter is a great place for one liners folks. The title of this post is directly from twitter. It is in response to a Journal.ie article today that Tesco burgers showed high traces of horse DNA in their burgers. For those not in the know, Shergar was an Irish racehorse that was kidnapped, or was that horse-napped, in 1983.

Now, using cow beef for burgers is fine, but using equine meat, well that’s a horse of a different color.

Of course the investigators could save the public a lot of time and money and just go to the executives at Tesco and get the truth, straight from the horse’s mouth so to speak.

Now a horse is a horse, of course, and a cow is a cow, anyhow, but if we eat cow meat, why are we making a song and dance about horse meat? Take it away Mister Ed:

Maybe these burgers will be a galloping great success? Ingredient labels of the new Tesco Burgers might read like this: Shergar and spice and all things nice.

This isn't real, you know?

This isn’t real, you know?

1 thought on “Tesco Burgers Low in Fat But High in Shergar

Leave a comment